My December Song Project 2 – Home

Last year I created the December Song Project, wherein I posted a different song every day just for the heck of it. I came up with the idea as a hail Mary attempt to surpass a certain number of blog posts before the end of the year. I have no such ambitions this year, but I just liked doing it so I thought I’d do it again. Here are the rules, same as last year:

1) Songs shall be songs I like

2) No artist shall appear more than once in the list (per year).

Yes, there will be more Christmas songs.

Without further ado, first up for the first of December 2014:

Song: Home

Artist: Jack Johnson

Year: 2013

Favorite Lyric: Home is wherever we are if there’s love here too.

Significance: Jack Johnson has had a handful of decent songs, and he’s been around a decent span of time, but he hasn’t really evolved as an artist. He does the same thing over and over again. However, one thing he does really, consistently well is engineer sound. His recordings are crystal clear and well-balanced, and sadly that’s not something that can be taken for granted in this age of technological miracles and wonders.

After I heard a couple of live television performances that also sounded superb, I looked into whether Johnson might have something more to do with the recording process than most artists do. Sure enough, he has a degree from UC Santa Barbara in music production.

The track Home is from the recent release From Here to Now to You.  I first heard it performed on The Colbert Report, which led to the aforementioned research. Unfortunately there isn’t an official video for this song, and you’ll notice that will be a recurring theme during the DSP. So you’ll have to settle for whatever user-generated videos I can find, with whatever grade audio comes along. 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My December Song Project 2 – Home

  1. Pingback: My DSP 2 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

