My DSP 2: Santa Claus is Coming to Town

Song: Santa Claus is Coming to Town

Artist: The Crystals

Year: 1963

Favorite Lyric: NA

Significance: This is one of those songs that I think has great potential but suffers from a crappy recording. Some of that can be blamed on the fact that it came out in 1963, but most of the blame can be placed squarely on Phil Spector and his infuriatingly stupid “wall of sound.” Still, I first came across this song first I played it in a Christmas show with the Seattle Rock Orchestra, where it had a great arrangement, and it contains my all-time favorite feature of any Christmas song – the funky breakdown. If your Christmas song has a funky breakdown, it is all but guaranteed that I will like it. I wish someone would take this song, pare it down a bit and rerecord it with modern technology, but in the absence of a Christmas miracle, I give you the 1963 version.

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP 2: Santa Claus is Coming to Town

  1. Pingback: My DSP 2 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

