My DSP 2: Picture Book

Song: Picture Book

Artist: The Kinks

Year: 1968

Favorite Lyric: A holiday in August, outside a bed and breakfast, in sunny south end
Picture book, when you were just a baby, those days when you were happy, a long time ago

Significance: I originally heard this song in a visually stunning commercial for, I think, a printer. This song seemed a far cry from “You Really Got Me” and it is. It’s still a bit garage-y, but I love the tune and as I’ve mentioned before, Ray Davies is an amazing lyricist. He tells these fully-realized, just-descriptive-enough-to-spark-your-own-imagination/memories┬ástories in two and a half minutes.

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP 2: Picture Book

  1. Pingback: My DSP 2 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

