Get that messy tinderbox out of my house!

Well for what I believe to be the first time ever in my 29 years I experienced a bit of a white Christmas.  It snowed yesterday for an hour or two, starting sometime before noon, while my family was unwrapping gifts.  It didn’t stick but I still say it counts since I live in Washington state and the idea of a white Christmas is mainly science fiction. 

Our Christmas tree is on its way out the door today.  We got a real one this year for our first house, deciding to wait until after the holiday to pick up a cheap, artifical one, but I’ve hated every minute of it.  The messy needles, crawling under a bunch of poky branches every day to water it, and then since I have a bit of a black thumb, the tree died early, and we’ve been left staring at a droopy, crispy mess for at least a week.  I don’t know how my mom did it all those years.  I’m hoping there will be one or two artificial trees left that we can pick from in the next couple of weeks, but if not, I’ll just shell out the money next year because I’m not doing this again. 

One really dead Christmas tree

We decided that we would hold the Christmas festivities at our house this year, providing we could finish up a few of the major projects left undone.  We started with the baseboard, and then Shaun’s parents offered to buy us flooring for the two spare bedrooms as our Christmas present.  We finished most everything and we now have our offices!  I love my office.  I love the color I picked for the walls and the curtains I hung and I love the view I have all the way to the stoplight at the top of the hill.  I’m not entirely sure why I like being able to see the stoplight and the cars…  Perhaps in some small way I do miss city life.

Christmas went well.  We were able to fit everybody in our anything-but-rec room for dinner, although I did have to improvise a bit with the silverware, having only eight (formal) settings for nine guests.  The prime rib was overcooked for some (me and my mom) but perfect for others.  After dinner there was pie and a few games on the Wii.  So there you have it, new house all broken in.  Finally.  I’d like to have a housewarming for friends now, but before I do, I really should paint that baseboard one more time…. 

  

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Home Repair and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

