Au Naturel

I’ve been a bit stressed out lately, what with the end of the quarter and landing some work (more on that later), so I was really looking for something positive to say. If it’s true that if you can’t say anything nice then you shouldn’t say anything at all, then I would most certainly be mute 90% of the time.

Anyway, I do have one thing that’s been making me happy lately, and that is all-natural grooming products. (All-natural can mean organic or just free from chemicals.) I tend to be a bit of a hoarder when it comes to hair & skin products anyway, trying anything that promises miracles. Last summer as I was running the gamut of products trying to ease some of my skin problems before my wedding, I heard about the benefits of tea tree oil. So I bought a bar of tea tree oil soap by an organic company called Giovanni.

I love this stuff. I had been having problems with itchy legs for years, something that crept up one day in my, let’s say mid-twenties, and just kept going on. It would get so bad that I would sometimes have to go to the dermatologist and get heavy steroid creams to ease the inflammation. All of that is gone now. All from switching to a natural product.

At some point I was also scratching my head a lot, and not because I was lost in deep thought. Something about my conditioner (that I had been using for a long time) was irritating my scalp. So Shaun bought me some tea tree oil conditioner, and voila, problem solved.

It worked so well I switched to a natural shampoo. (Not tea tree oil.) I’d gotten in the habit of placing the hair that came out of my head while showering on the shelf so that I didn’t have to clean out the drain all the time, just toss it out at the end of the shower. (This is a very effective technique, btw.) Before, the shelf would be laden with hair, and now it’s down to just two or three thin strands.

I’ve also switched to Kiss My Face natural make-up, I use pure witch hazel as a toner, and I’m experimenting with natural mousses and other styling aids. I also stopped using deodorant with aluminum in it a long time ago, because I’d heard bad things about aluminum and thought, well whether the rumors are true or not, I just don’t sweat that much so I don’t need it. 

I’m not 100% organic and crunchy yet, but someday soon I think I will be. I can’t find everything organic, and it can be expensive to buy online with shipping costs, but Fred Meyer has a great selection and Super Supplements will do in a pinch. The selection of products at retailers like Target and Wal-Mart is growing as well. 

I’m the kind of person that tends to make life overly complicated, so anything that makes my life easier is a welcome change. Kudos to you, organic products, for giving me something nice to say.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Au Naturel

  1. Gerry says:

    I bet you’ll look great in deadlocks.

    Welcome to crunchy hippy land.

Leave a Reply

