Weird Week

So Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett and Michael Jackson all passed on this week It was all shocking news, but particularly the news of the death of my parents neighbor Ron.

My parents heard his dog barking in the middle of the night, which they thought was weird because he usually doesn’t lock his dog up. In the morning, a friend found him dead on his deck. He was older and his wife had passed just a couple of months before, but she had been ill for many years while he had a heart attack.

The whole thing got me thinking about neighbors in general. My parents had lived next door to this couple (and their children) for over 30 years, and before that they were the neighbors of my grandparents (who lived in the same house.)

My parents knew the neighbors very well, and I remember when I would wake up in the middle of the night, scared that some noise I heard was someone breaking into the house, my mom would tell me not to worry because the neighbor would be up in just a little while, as he routinely left for work at 4 or 5 in the morning, and he would let us know if something was amiss. This ALWAYS made me feel better.

I’ve lived in my house for over two years now and never even met my neighbors. I know the house to the right runs a day care, and the guy across the street mows his tiny patch of lawn with a riding mower. Granted I’m not much of a mixer, and the “block party” I went to the summer after I moved into the house was enough to scare me away from ever going again.

About 15 years ago, my parents other neighbors moved away and a new family moved in, and I’ve been friends with the daughter ever since. I always thought that was really convenient, having someone I liked right next door. Now that I have to travel a minimum of 30 minutes to see any of my friends, I wish I did know my neighbors and that a daily visit or cup of tea didn’t seem like something from the 1960s. I don’t live in a particularly young neighborhood though, or a particularly young city for that matter. What’s a gal to do?

It is probably more common now to not know your neighbors than to know them. But maybe that’s not true, what do you think? Do you know your neighbors?

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Home, Life, Puyallup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weird Week

  1. Gerry says:

    Seriously, he mowes that patch with a riding lawnmower? Wow…

    We know most of our neighbors, I’ve always felt it’s important to meet the people you’ll be fighting against for relief supplies when “the big one” strikes.

  2. bflynn says:

    We’ve been very intentional about trying to meet our neighbors, but this is greatly aided by the fact we all have like-age children. Also, I think buying (as opposed to renting) makes a big difference in how you feel about neighbors.

  3. suitejen says:

    We actually own our home and still don’t know our neighbors. Oddly enough, when we lived in the apartment, we knew our neighbor very well because he took it upon himself to find out our names. He would also be sitting on his porch when I got home at night and he would always say hi and talk to me for a few minutes. Couldn’t have asked for a better neighbor, particularly in an apartment complex.

  4. Cammy says:

    I know my neighbors, but mostly because Gerry has taken the initiative to get to know them!

Leave a Reply

