Dismal Nitch

With the exception of assignments, I’ve been absent from the blogosphere for a while. Is this something that needs to be addressed, or is it just understood that sometimes life gets in the way?

I’ve been busy learning how to export a sequence from Avid and author a DVD, which was WAY harder than I thought it would be.

I’ve also been finishing up the class for which I wrote the blogs. This was a class on storytelling that I was really excited about that I felt lost its way about two weeks in. It’s a bit depressing when you’re paying for an education and not getting what you’d hoped. I’ve been fairly pleased with my program as a whole so far, but the last two quarters have been rough. And I’ve not signed up for the fall yet, because I don’t like any of the offerings. So I’m not expecting the next quarter to go very well either. The bright side is that classes don’t start again until October, so I don’t have to worry about it for a while.

Other than that, I’ve just been missing out on the summer. Summer is maybe the most loaded season, don’t you think? What do you think of when you think of summer? The promise of hot days and warm nights, freedom from responsibilities and breezy adventures. Yet when you’re an adult you still have to go in to work, and as much as I hate to admit it, I’m not really the breezy adventure type. Summer in Washington means complaining about the poor summer weather, then complaining about the nice summer weather because as a native Washingtonian, anything over 80 degrees is too much to take.

I think pound for pound I prefer fall and spring. These were always such beautiful seasons on the UW campus. Leaves falling from or blooming on the trees, the smell of fresh rain. Now that I own a house, I like entertaining in a nice, clean, warm house.

I digress. In an effort not to miss summer, and because I always want to be somewhere I am not, I am on vacation. We had originally planned to go to San Francisco, but we flew in December and frankly, I’m really not that fond of it. No more than once a year. So instead, we took a drive to the Oregon coast. We’re staying in Seaside and have other plans I’ll talk about later. Here are some pics from the drive and a brief visit to the beach.

 

Self-PortraitBeach

Self-Portrait on the beach

Astoria Bridge

Astoria Bridge, Entering Oregon

Dismal Nitch Shaun

What exactly is a nitch?

Church

A church in Seaside

On the Beach J Arches Hotel 1

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Education, Home, Life, Travel, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

