Tight Contacts

I’ve had a lot of work done on my teeth over the years. It started when I was just a youngin’, when, instead of losing my teeth as is the right of passage for most children, the dentist would yank them out, four at a time, to make room for other teeth. In case you missed the math there, that was four (4) at a time.

Then came the years of orthodontia, which no doubt cost my parents a pretty penny. I can’t remember just how long it took, and I never had braces, but I had all sorts of other funky, uncomfortable contraptions that I was forced to wear to correct the spacing of my teeth. All that and I still have a bit of an overbite which I hate but was told there’s not much to be done for that short of breaking my jaw. (That’s what I was told, I now wonder if that’s really true.)

Now as an adult, it’s just cavity after cavity. Just when I think they’ve filled all my teeth, they’re on to replacing an old filling that has cracked. Before you judge me, let me say I I take good care of my teeth. I brush, I floss, I use a fluoride rinse, I’m a dedicated individual. It’s frustrating to no end.  I mentioned last time my somewhat incapacitating fear of failure, and going to the dentist kind of makes me feel like a failure. Only kind of though. I know my cavity-prone teeth are the work of the genetics of cavity-prone parents. Shaun doesn’t do half the work I do and he only has one or two fillings. So it begs the question, why do all the work? But I do it anyway, because what else can you do but try your best?

The thing that seems to be all the rage in the dental universe these days is the dental dam. They take a piece of rubber and stretch it across your mouth, isolating the tooth they’re working on. I can only imagine this looks horrific and ridiculous all at once. Plus, thanks to the extremely tight contacts the orthodontist provided me with, my teeth shred regular floss (I have to use Glide), so imagine how comfortable it is having a piece of latex flossed between them.

So if you’re still reading this, I’m sure you’ve figured out I’m complaining because I’m sitting here at 5:30 in the afternoon with a fat lip and a bad attitude. But I have a question. I’m not sure if it’s a question that anyone can answer, but if you have an opinion, feel free to chime in.

As you may or may not know, I’m a huge proponent of organic grooming products. They’ve really done wonders for me. I have never, however, considered using a toothpaste without fluoride. Never, ever, ever. I figure my teeth will fall straight out of my head without that protection.

But what if it’s causing more harm than good? Could it be true or am I just paranoid? What if the reason I have such bad teeth is because I take such good care of them?

I don’t know though. When I came home from a three month stay in England where they don’t fluoridate the water I had a bunch of cavities.

Just food for thought, that will likely get stuck between those tight contacts of mine and cause me more cavities.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tight Contacts

  1. Sharman says:

    Oh chickie! I’ve made my living in dentistry since 1975. You’ll be getting a long email from me later
    Sharman

Leave a Reply

