My Complementary Husband

Today my husband Shaun turns 32. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science and he works at Microsoft as an operations engineer. He loves driving his Subaru Impreza WRX STI and building creative things, like cardboard computer cases. Shaun and I have been married for a little over a year, were engaged for nearly three and have been together for nine.

As some of you can probably already tell, Shaun and I are extremely different people. He hates making plans, I hate being unprepared. He likes science fiction books, action movies, anime and NCIS. I like realistic stories of domesticity, well-made dramas, things that aren’t cartoons and Mad Men. His favorite meal is breakfast, I don’t like to eat until lunch. He is an avid gamer, adept at everything from Mafia Wars to World of Warcraft. I am terrible at and dislike everything that doesn’t involve a plastic guitar controller or gems that swap places. He listens to the local alternative radio station, I listen to the Beatles and Paul Simon. He loves Asian food and rice, I like Italian food and bread. I could go on and on and on and on like this. We are, as you can see, extremely different people.

They say opposites attract, but that may be simplifying the plot a bit too much. Opposites, if you will forgive the dated and sappy reference, complete each other. While it can be frustrating at times to be with someone who is so different from myself, Shaun is also everything I am not. He is patient and forgiving, calm and easy-going. When I become overwhelmed by the selection of laundry detergent at the grocery store, he can make that decision in two seconds flat. He still changes my car’s oil even though, when we were dating, I first convinced him to change it by saying that I wanted to learn how to change it myself, then made absolutely no effort to get down on the floor and crawl under the car. (Eww.) He is a great cook and shoos me out of the kitchen despite my attempts to help, which is perfect because we have a small kitchen and most of the time I don’t really want to help. He is a handyman, adept with tools and willing to make mistakes. When we were fixing up the house, he put down all the floors while I painted all the walls. He also built his own Mame Arcade machine, which I affectionately refer to as “the monstrosity.”    

0524092022-00

Showing off the monstrosity

Shaun will hate that I am writing this. He’s asked me in recent weeks to stop referring to him so much in this blog. And I think I have to admit that for a while, in any of my writing, I tried not to refer to him. I’ve always been one to write what I know, and what I know is me. So how truly odd it was to discover that, whether or not I was writing about my husband, he was still present in my writing.

So to the person that has colored and tinted my world view, who has introduced me to Guitar Hero and LOLCats and House, who has waited for me and accompanied me and enabled me, who has laughed with me and at me and at himself, thanks. Thanks for being so awesome and for loving me. Happy Birthday.

Sid (26)

Naptime is the best time for pictures.

 

Valentine's Day '09 (5)

Valentine's Day '09

CIMG1501

Spinning on the Teacups at Disneyworld, December '08

 

Sep03Wedding06

My favorite picture of us, September '03

 

P.S. Quit frustrating me!

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Home, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Complementary Husband

  1. Gerry says:

    Wow… I never knew about the monstrosity… thats preatty freakin’ cool!

  2. Wes says:

    Frank Fu cameo! Fittingly, while admiring the monstrosity.

  3. Pingback: My Husband’s Birthday – 2012 edition | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

