My Nine Month Old

Where to begin? Six months seemed such a long time coming and now it’s nine months already? Impossible.

As her time out (in the world) reaches her time in (utero), I think back on the pregnancy and all the ailments and the eternal, infernal waiting. I think about how those nine months stretched on as I stretched out and how those first few weeks were the…longest…days…of…my…life. Time is picking back up now and surely will start speeding by. As Ferris Bueller so famously said, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” So here’s to stopping and looking at my kid.

At nine months she wakes sometime between 7:30 and 9 a.m. She is always delighted to see me (which is a great way to start your morning) and kicks and holds her arms out for me to pick her up.

Good Morning!

Then it’s on to the morning diaper change with more kicking.

Diaper Change

We head downstairs for breakfast which nowadays involves some amount of baby food. It was tough to get her to eat this stuff, but she seems to like the blended flavors in the pouches.

I make a face at everything I eat.

Then she gets some quality playtime with her toys, which starts out calmly with a just a couple of toys…

The classics are classics for a reason.

And ends up like this…

Toys galore!

Eventually she gets tired and it’s time for the morning nap. This is time I use to take a shower and feed myself. I will miss this nap when she no longer needs it and will probably roam my house all day in a bathrobe, smelly and hungry. After the morning nap I get her dressed for the day, which involves putting eczema cream on her itchy spots. Then there’s some more play time. Since these pictures are from Sunday, she got to spend some time with dad, which always results in the best pictures.

Future gamer, no doubt about that.

Then it’s on to lunch, which involves more baby food. At points during the day, sometimes during lunch, I try to give her something that’s not baby food. A rice cake or teething biscuit or a baby cookie. Usually though she gets something from my plate at dinner because it’s the only way I can get any peace. She’s going to be so happy when she has the teeth to eat what we eat.

She’ll eat the food from the pouch, but only if she gets to hold the pouch.

There’s never much of a routine to the afternoon but Sunday’s adventures included some “reading” followed by mom amusing herself taking mirror pictures. (Actually mom was amusing herself with this documenting a day project. The days when I have ideas like this are the good days.)

Reading Time

Mommy & Me in the Mirror

Then it was off to the mall so Dad could get a haircut.

Stop it with the flashy thingie!

Later we went to Grandma & Grandpa Jackson’s house for dinner, which resulted in several more unusual photos.

When life gives you lemons, sit on ’em!

Playing in the water with Auntie Amber

Too small for this but ever so cute.

Sippin’ Water

Baby in a diaper bag!

By the time we got home, it was bedtime. Lather, rinse, repeat. You get the idea.

Sleeping like a baby

In other nine month news, we recently started taking parent/child swim lessons because I want her to be acclimated to the water. We go twice a week to the Y and the lessons consist of singing songs, splashing and chasing after floating balls. The first lesson went great. She loved looking around at the new environment and meeting all the babies. Halfway through the second lesson she started a crying jag that lasted all the way through the third lesson. On a whim I bought her a warmer swimsuit and that seemed to do the trick. The rest of the lessons have gone well. It’s a royal pain in the butt to get the both of us changed afterwards and I was debating not signing up for the next session. My family convinced me to stick with it and really help her get used to the water. Plus, even though I’m not really swimming, it’s been so long since I’ve been in a pool it’s fun for me too.

She hasn’t started crawling or moving yet. Often when she wants something that’s out of reach, she tenses up her legs, sticks her arms out in front of her and clenches her fists and whines. It’s as if she’s just wishing herself to move. In any event, it’s adorable and produces the desired result when I hand her what she wants.

What she lacks in mobility she makes up for in vocabulary. She babbles constantly. Ba-ba, da-da, ga-ga and most recently and most excitingly, muh-muh. She screams and laughs and vocalizes all day long. Today at Grandma & Grandpa’s she was imitating Grandma’s “wheeee!” syllables. Words can’t be far behind.

I do spend time during the day wishing I could get more done. I could clean the house, make a better dinner or bake, balance the checkbook or start or finish any number of random projects. But it’s really true that there will be plenty of time for that and only a limited number of days in which I can document a day in the life of my favorite nine month old. Here’s hoping the days don’t go by too quickly.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

