My Year without Makeup

I seem to recall mentioning recently, several times in fact, that I often have ideas for posts that I mull over for weeks before I decide if they’re blog worthy. It’s a fine line this mulling – mull too long and the timeliness of the topic jumps out the window of opportunity. I had an idea for a post nearly a year ago, after my daughter was born and after I decided I should spend more time on the blog, but before I wrote the first post on the birth process. The title was going to be My Month without Makeup. 

I was planning on discussing the absence of routine in that first month home with the baby, when you’re in survival mode and things like showers and teeth brushing take a vacation. I didn’t get to writing the birth post until two months after my daughter was born. My Month without Makeup turned into my two months plus without makeup and, with no plans to powder my nose in sight, a non-starter of a topic.

It turns out that if you wait long enough, some topics crawl back through the window. Eleven and a half months after my schedule went rogue I started wearing makeup again, and My Year without Makeup sounds like an even better post than a measly Month. So let’s get to it, toute suite.

Some point along the timeline of this past year survival mode ended, though I couldn’t give you an exact date. At no point did I miss wearing makeup or think that I needed it, and leaving it out of my daily routine left time for other things I did miss, like eating. I’m wearing makeup again not because I am suddenly showered with time, but because I got a haircut. All the years of patiently waiting for the right time to buy a new car made me think of all the other things I’ve been waiting to do, including getting a pixie hair cut. I was going to take the plunge about 11 years ago when I was studying abroad in England. My hair was really long and I was going to cut it all off and come home with a completely different look. I didn’t do it then, and though I have often been tempted, I have never been brave enough to go through with it. I have had many a short hairstyle in my time, but never a true pixie cut.

It seems awfully clichéd that I got a short, easy to take care of cut after I had a baby.  However, my current time constraints were only one of three factors that drove me to the salon. I was also insanely curios to know if my baby fine hair would finally look life-like with a super short cut. But the first and foremost factor was my skin. I knew that if I was ever going to get this particular cut, now was the right time.

I had beautiful, flawless skin up through my first year in college, and then the universe decided to have a chuckle at my expense and bestowed upon me adult acne. I tried for years to solve this problem to no avail, and then I got pregnant. Some people have problems with their skin when they’re pregnant. I had every other problem but my skin started looking better, and so did I. I hated almost everything about pregnancy except the way I looked. Though the thicker pregnancy locks eventually returned to their normal, lifeless state, my skin remained free and clear. I live in fear of the day I wake up to another gigantic and prominently placed forehead zit, so I decided if there was anytime to show off my face and not hide behind hair, it was now. Just in case.

The actual cut is tough to get used to. It definitely casts my face in a different light. I’m not 100% sure I can pull it off. And that’s why I decided to put back the makeup. It add mores femininity to a boyish cut. What little time the haircut saves me is more than wasted in the application and removal of makeup. Returning to my pre-baby, nightly face-washing routine has been the worst part of the process. I really enjoyed the freedom from a nighttime routine, even though the routine was not purposefully changed but hastily abandoned because sleep was such a precious commodity.

As far as my opinion on the haircut, it’s meh. I don’t dislike it, but I think I look weird with bangs. I think if I grow those out, I might keep the short style.

My hair at its longest

My hair at its shortest

What you’re looking for in a hair gel is something that will stand the test of time.

The kicker to this story is that after showering at my parents’ house this morning (long story), I found completely unused hair gel that I bought years and years ago in anticipation of getting the pixie cut. So what I learned from this experience is that if you wait long enough, ideas and hair gels will come full circle.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Baby, Header Menu, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Year without Makeup

  1. mayalessov says:

    I love this, story and hair. Especially the final insight that if you wait long enough, both ideas and hair plans come around. I agree, too, with the projection that you may want to keep the short but not the bangs. I had the same feeling about my pixie cut. Although I’ve always had short hair, something about the everywhere-short gave me a false sense of advertising. As if I was sporting something not representative to the contents.

  2. mayalessov says:

    I love this, story and hair. Especially the final insight that if you wait long enough, writing ideas and hair plans come around. I agree, too, with the projection that you may want to keep the short but not the bangs. I had the same feeling about my pixie cut. Although I’ve always had short hair, something about the everywhere-short gave me a false sense of advertising. As if I was not representing the contents of my personality correctly.

  3. Pingback: My Bald Baby | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

