My thoughts for the week of September 17th, 2012

I had a few ideas for topics this week, none of which was hearty enough for full-fledged post, so I thought I’d bundle them together in blog smorgasbord. A blogasbord, if you will.

1) The Autumnal Equinox (September 22nd, 2012.) It’s officially fall, my favorite season. It seems to be a favorite of many around the northwest, and I suspect that’s not only because the lighting is beautiful and the air is crisp, but it’s a hell of a lot more consistent than summer. Summer’s a crap shoot but fall is always lovely. Unfortunately the autumnal equinox means daylight is going downhill. It’s not so bad now when it gets dark at 7, but the dreariness of sunset at 4:30 is right around the corner.

2) The 2012 Emmys (September 23rd 2012.) I can’t forget that last year the Emmys were on Sunday September 18th, because at the time I was lying in a hospital bed, exhausted but unable to sleep. I stumbled across the Emmys and rejoiced that there was something to watch. Every year I write about the Oscars, and I thought that an annual Emmys post might be in order, what with all the ranting I’ve been doing lately on how television is so much better than movies. Unfortunately the Emmys are really boring. The state of comedy is abysmal, I don’t give a rat’s ass about reality television and I’ve never seen Homeland which took home most of the drama awards this year. That did give me pause to think that perhaps I should seek out and watch Homeland, but I also think Claire Danes is boring…

3) The Puyallup Fair (September 23rd 2012). Last year, my husband and I planned several alternative routes to the hospital in case we ran in to fair traffic. I remember thinking I’d probably be taking my daughter to the fair near her first birthday and lo-and-behold, I did. Unfortunately I have hardly any pictures to show for it, and I don’t think she was that impressed by it (truthfully, who is?) She’s too young for even the kiddie rides and too small for the junk food, though we did give her her first curly fry. I think she was slightly interested in looking at the livestock, and she did smile when we went to the petting zoo and she got to touch a sheep and a bunny. I think her favorite thing was getting to interact with her two-and-a-half year old friend Susie-Rose. It really is great to see all these forms of communication and awareness developing, but we also have a long way to go.

Doin’ the Puyallup

4) Last year at this time (September 17th – September 23rd). Though I recently scoffed at a parenting magazine’s suggestion to set aside time to reflect on the first year of parenthood (I scoffed at the setting aside time part, not the reflection part – I’m nothing if not introspective), reflect I have. My reflections are less about parenthood and more about what a difference a year can make. I remember the first week home with my baby as being filled with pain, doctor visits, pain, eating homemade (by my husband) panini sandwiches in bed, and pain. Oh and Vicodin. I’d like to make a joke here about missing the Vicodin but I am not now, nor am I hardly ever, in enough pain to warrant taking a Vicodin. I will however always, always take a panini sandwich.

Lying in bed with Sonja, having (probably) just eaten a panini.

And there you have my miscellaneous thoughts for the week of September 17th. I hope you enjoyed reading them as much as I enjoyed thinking them.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Baby, Header Menu, Puyallup, Television and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

