My DSP: Father Christmas

Song: Father Christmas

Artist: The Kinks

Year: 1977

Favorite lyric: Nothing stands out but the story as a whole is good.

Significance: Shaun says I’ve been copping out on the “significance” portion of the DSP. I thought short and sweet would be best because often what we like about music is inexplicable. But he may have a point that I promised more than I’m delivering. So, without further ado, Father Christmas. This is another song which I first heard when playing a Christmas gig with the Seattle Rock Orchestra, and that is what makes it most significant to me. However, I am also a mild to moderate Kinks fan. Hiding behind their signature messy, garage-y sound are some detailed and pitch perfect stories. Father Christmas is a gritty rock song about the gritty side of Christmas and it stands out among a sea of silver bells and red-nosed reindeer.

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP: Father Christmas

  1. Pingback: My DSP Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

