My DSP: Nashville Cats

Song: Nashville Cats

Artist: The Lovin’ Spoonful

Year: 1966

Favorite lyric: The record man said every one is a yellow sun record from Nashville, and up north here ain’t nobody buys ’em, and I said but I will

Significance: I feel like The Lovin’ Spoonful are kind of the antithesis to The Kinks. The Spoonful sound is clean and the harmonies are intricate and interesting, but I think history dismisses them a little bit because their lyrics are fluffy. The name itself is a bit hard to swallow. Perhaps they were dismissed in their day as well, seeming a bit “old school” amongst the likes of Simon & Garfunkel and Bob Dylan. But I’m here to tell you it doesn’t really matter what they say or what they’re called, it’s still good. I was introduced to The Spoonful very young. I remember listening to Rain on the Roof on an actual record player, with that bright, yellow label contrasting the black grooves of the record. I think it was one of my first favorite songs that wasn’t in Mary Poppins.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My DSP: Nashville Cats

  1. Pingback: My DSP Playlist | Suite Story Productions

  2. Pingback: My DSP 3: Six O’Clock | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

