My DSP: Guilty

Song: Guilty

Artist: Randy Newman

Year: 1974

Favorite lyric: You know I just can’t stand myself, and it takes a whole lotta medicine for me to pretend that I’m somebody else

Significance: Randy Newman is another all-time favorite of mine. I don’t understand why so many of his fans demand that he release versions of his songs with only piano and vocals, when the intricate harmonies and orchestral arrangements are what make the songs so brilliant. I wonder if Newman ever gets annoyed that all the work he puts into his songs goes largely unappreciated. I digress. I think this song is one of the best of the best. It’s in 12/8 which is probably my favorite time signature, and the dissonant harmonies are just that – dissonant yet harmonious. It’s quite brilliant.

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My DSP: Guilty

  1. Pingback: My DSP Playlist | Suite Story Productions

  2. Pingback: My DSP 2: Only a Girl | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

