My DSP: 3 a.m.

Song: 3 a.m.

Artist: Matchbox 20

Year: 1998

Favorite Lyric: She swears the moon don’t hang quite as high as it used to

Significance: I have serious reservations about posting this song because while I do like it, I do not think it is in any way remarkable. But the whole song project has gotten me thinking about videos since so many of the songs, even the newer ones, don’t have accompanying videos, and the ones that do, well they suck. Back before YouTube, when I was in college in the late ’90s, music videos had to be seen on television. And MTV was so over the music video, but VH1 was not. They had a three-hour block in the middle of the night called Insomniac Music Theater. This was supposed to start at 3 a.m., but the UW cable must have been a satellite feed because I could watch it starting at midnight. I tuned in around 1 a.m. because I was an insomniac, and I’d see what they had to offer. I found a few songs I liked this way. I wanted to post videos for other songs that were not by Matchbox 20, but after viewing the videos on YouTube, I do not remember them at all. That calls in to question if Insomniac Music Theater was really where I found them. But I remember this video quite well, so that is why it is significant enough to warrant it space in the DSP.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My DSP: 3 a.m.

  1. Pingback: My DSP Playlist | Suite Story Productions

  2. Pingback: My DSP 2: I’m Not Running Anymore | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

