My Summer Baby – The Sequel

Summer came early this year in the Pacific Northwest. By the end of June we’d sailed past 80 degrees and nearly hit 90. The first week of July has been pleasantly warm. Surprise, surprise, now that it’s not raining buckets, we’ve been able to get out of the house and have a few adventures.

I was very excited for last summer, Sonja’s first. In June (2012) she turned 9-months old, and I was happy that she would be alert and aware of her surroundings so we could have sunny summer adventures. That was nothing compared to this summer, and we’re just getting started. Now she’s walking and talking and she loves to go outside and play!

Last summer we had a family picnic at a park in Tacoma which was fun. Yesterday, on a whim, we went out to that same park and let her loose. After she slid down the little slide, she insisted she wanted to go down the big spiral slide. I resisted at first but then decided to let her try. She loved it and went on it over and over again until we had to leave.

Summer 2012 - 10 months - needs a little help down the slide.

Summer 2012 – 10 months – needs a little help down the slide.

Summer 2013 - 21 months - No assistance necessary.

Summer 2013 – 21 months – No assistance necessary.

Summer 2013 - 21 Monhts - I want to do this.

Summer 2013 – 21 Months – I want to do this.

Summer 2013 - 21 Monhts - Yes, I'm doing this. Summer 2013 – 21 Months – Yes, I’m doing this.

Summer 2013 - 21 months - This. Is. Awesome!

Summer 2013 – 21 months – This. Is. Awesome!

She was also deliriously happy about the swing, which was quite a change from the previous year.

Summer 2012 - 10 months - Not so sure about the swing

Summer 2012 – 10 months – Not so sure about the swing

Earlier today we met some friends at a place called Country Village Shops. While we didn’t do any shopping, the kids got to play on the playground and Sonja took her very first train ride. She loved it. My friend asked her if she was excited and she said, “yes,” then proceeded to tell us all through the ride that she was excited. “I ‘cited!” She smiled the entire time.

I 'cited! I 'cited!

I ‘cited! I ‘cited!

And last week another friend invited us to the Children’s Museum in Olympia. This makes our third children’s museum total. They are all a little different but they really are appealing places for the little ones. This was the only museum we’ve been to with an outdoor play area. The little creek was perfect on the extremely hot day, except I thought the rocky bottom was a little harsh for little feet. It was harsh on my feet!

Playing at the water table.

Playing at the water table.

D'oh!

D’oh!

Why...Why are you doing this to me?

Why…Why are you doing this to me?

Meh. More pictures.

Meh. More pictures.

Bubbly stuff!

Bubbly stuff!

Summer in my opinion is the most anticipated season and it seems the most fleeting. I look forward to posting what will hopefully be our numerous adventures so that, come winter, I can look back and remember that yes, summer does exist, and next year it will be even better.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Summer Baby – The Sequel

Leave a Reply

