My Subscription Experiment Update

Several months ago, I regaled all of you with the fascinating news that I was testing out Amazon’s Subscribe & Save program in an attempt to cut down on trips to the store and save money. Amazon caused quite a stir the other day when it announced its plans for drone package delivery, and all I can say is I hope they will make my life easier, because Subscribe & Save sure didn’t.

I spent a lot of time comparison shopping, figuring out which items (of the ones offered) would be cheaper online than at my local one-stop shop. If you have five or more items delivered in the same month, you save 15% on your order, as opposed to the 5% if you have four or fewer. This actually amounted to quite a few things being quite a bit cheaper than they are in the store. Hooray! Or so I thought.

I am soon to receive my fifth delivery*, which will be just diapers, which is how I got the idea for the experiment in the first place. Most of the other things I have subscribed to have been dropped from the program. So I can still get cat food, but because the laundry detergent and rinse agent have been eliminated, I can only save five percent.

Even at five percent, I’m still saving some money, but the frequency of deliveries is a problem. You can hold back any item at any time if you’re not ready for it, but it’s a delicate and difficult balancing act to get the quantity just right.

So it didn’t really solve any of my problems and even created some new ones. Going to the store isn’t really a problem that needs to be solved, per se. I was just hoping for interim alternatives since its harder to get out now that I have a toddler who may, at any moment, refuse to go down a particular aisle because she doesn’t like the looks of the Count on that cereal box. I know I’m not the only one with this type of problem. Marketers are constantly looking to redesign the shopping experience and that’s how Subscribe & Save came to be in the first place. But I say back to the drawing board, marketers, there’s more work to do!

*Provided the package-jackers don’t get to it first. 

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Life, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

