My DSP 2: Baby It’s Cold Outside

Song: Baby It’s Cold Outside

Artist: Zooey Deschanel & Leon Redbone

Year: 2003

Favorite Lyric: My maiden aunt’s mind is vicious

Significance: The first time I ever heard this song was on an episode of Blossom in the early ’90s. It was sung by the characters, who couldn’t remember all the words. Still, the part that they had right, I liked, but I couldn’t find this song anywhere. This was way before the internet made every song ever searchable in a nanosecond. So when this duet came out as part of the Will Ferrell movie Elf, I was ecstatic. I never forgot about the song and I still like it. Especially this version, which is light and laid back and has a great vocal performance by Deschanel. I’ve now heard numerous of versions of this song and I find most to be way too fast, the singers racing each other to get to the end first. To me this version feels much more organic and contextual.

 

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP 2: Baby It’s Cold Outside

  1. Pingback: My DSP 2 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

