My DSP 2: Heroes & Villains

Song: Heroes & Villains

Artist: The Beach Boys

Year: 1967

Favorite Lyric: My children were raised, you know they suddenly rise
They started slow long ago, head to toe, healthy, wealthy and wise

Significance: I’m not a huge Beach Boys fan, but I like a handful of their stuff. This song is kind of an obscure one and I don’t remember how I personally came across it. Research says it was the single to follow Good Vibrations, and it did not quite live up to its predecessor’s success. Feh, I like this one better. Good Vibrations is a better recording, but this is a more interesting song. And therein lies my beef with Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys. They had the vocal stuff down, but they needed a George Martin-type overseeing the recording process and helping them out with the arrangements. I don’t think Heroes and Villains is as profound as Brian Wilson wanted it to be either, but I like the harmonies and the way the song wanders from one place to the next.

 

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP 2: Heroes & Villains

  1. Pingback: My DSP 2 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

