My DSP 2: Short Skirt / Long Jacket

Song: Short Skirt / Long Jacket

Artist: Cake

Year: 2001

Favorite Lyric: She wants a car with a cup holder arm rest
She wants a car that will get her there

Significance: I first heard this song in the movie Waitress, in another great example of a pop music movie montage. I didn’t know what I was listening to but I liked it, so checked with Shaun who knew exactly what it was. I know so much about the history of pop music, but if I need information on what’s hip or current, I have to ask Shaun. This song is ubiquitous now, even being used as the theme song to the now defunct show Chuck. I still like it. Funky beat, great horns, interesting chord changes and sharp lyrics.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP 2: Short Skirt / Long Jacket

  1. Pingback: My DSP 2 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

