My DSP 2: Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)

Song: Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)

Artist: Billy Joel

Year: 1993

Favorite Lyric: Someday your child may cry and if you sing this lullabye
Then in your heart there will always be a part of me

Significance: This is off of Billy Joel’s River of Dreams album from 1993. The title song was extremely popular that year, and with good reason. It is a great song with a great performance by Joel. Lullabye immediately precedes it on the album and is also a stunning performance and a beautiful song. A lullaby written for his daughter. I particularly love how the strings rock back and forth when he sings, “like a boat out on the ocean, I’m rocking you to sleep,” and how the French horn creeps in at the end. I have loved this song since it came out in 1993, but only since becoming a parent has it made me want to weep like a baby. One of those strange artifacts of aging.

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP 2: Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)

  1. Pingback: My DSP 2 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

