My Quotidian Summer’s End

I’ve been sitting on this title since last summer, and even though we’re a couple of weeks into autumn, I can’t have it lingering in my brain for another year. So I’ll have a go at stringing together some sentences that befit the appellation. Thank goodness this summer didn’t wind up being really exciting.

This was in many ways a very ordinary summer. It felt a little like a summer vacation from school, in that we mostly sat around the house doing nothing, losing track of the days of the week. Uneventful and colossally boring days that could’ve been used for something useful slipped through our fingers, never to return.

On the other hand, this was an emotional summer. The loss of our main source of income left us frightened and depressed. We would’ve liked to work on some long lingering house projects with the extra time, but we didn’t have the money. I had resolved to find work after my month-long contract job made me realize I was ready to get out of the house. But what would’ve been a long and leisurely search for the perfect part-time job turned into a race against dwindling finances.

And so I find myself, at the end of September, when all the kids have returned to school, returning to work full-time in a “permanent” position. I use the quotation marks because obviously jobs are never permanent, but I use the term because it is not a freelance/contract job. I’ve had other permanent jobs, which were all part-time. I’ve had other full-time jobs, which were contract positions. I do believe this is the first time I have had a full-time, permanent position.

Somewhat ironically, I find myself not at a cubicle but in a classroom, for five weeks of training. If that sounds crazy, it is. The jury’s still out on whether this is a good crazy (like that last month-long contract position) or bad crazy.

And that’s it. My summer is over, the luxury of time gone in a flash. House plans will have to remain on hold. I have to buckle down, suck it up, and be an adult. And a boring one at that. But who knows, maybe next summer won’t be quite so quotidian.

 

 

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Life, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Quotidian Summer’s End

  1. maya says:

    You are not a boring adult if you use the word “quotidian” and know about boring.

Leave a Reply

