My 7-Year-Old Cell Phone

The Workhorse

The Workhorse

I’ve had the same cell phone for seven years. Possibly more, but it’s been so long I can’t remember or find evidence of the transaction. It is not a smart phone. It is a slider phone with a keyboard and rudimentary capabilities for web browsing that I do not use because I do not have a data plan. I acquired this phone after smart phones were a thing, and I’ve stubbornly stuck with it ever since. Fact is, I like it. The keyboard is clicky and responsive for texting, which I do a lot, and the call quality is great. The down side of this phone is it’s slippery, but the upside is it is indestructible.

The best (cell phone) keyboard

The best (cell phone) keyboard

I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a smart phone for years, but I never do it because I don’t see a big need for it. I have plenty of internet access without it, and I don’t mind simply waiting at a restaurant for my food and being a real person.

Except then there are times I see a need for it. Times when I am waiting and I don’t have anything else to do, no book to read. Times when I want to check my e-mail because that’s how the person I’m waiting on has contacted me to let me know they’re running late. Times when I’m thinking of something specific and if I only had a smart phone I could just check it really quick so I don’t forget. Times when I want to take a picture with my phone but have it not suck. These times usually coincide with being in a room full of people who ALL have smartphones. When did I become such a luddite?

Still, I’m hesitant to pull the trigger. I know that there’s no going back. Once there is data, there will always be data. I’m worried that the ease of distraction will crowd out the more enriching standbys for passing time, like reading a book or going for a walk, so I’d like to hold off joining the flock as long as I can. I will say this: I loved my old, indestructible Toyota with great fervor, until I bought my Subaru. Now that I’m driving the Toyota to work again (so Shaun can have the carseat), I hate it. Amazing what a little horsepower – or 3G – will do.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My 7-Year-Old Cell Phone

  1. mayalessov says:

    I completely relate to this residence, Jen.
    My own transition from a trusted semi-smart BlackBerry (with a great keyboard) to the slabs of glass that slip even more than any older phone has been a love-hate mix from the get go. I still hold the dream of a keyboard-ed phone with good sound quality AND Web. You’re right about that on the data. The more indispensable thing for me in phones is email. But my BB pearl had that. Eventually, its battery started to die and I had to give it up. But I fought it and still miss it. So I say, hold your stance until the wind moves you. It even looks like a great phone.

  2. mayalessov says:

    Guess what else you can’t do on the glass cell phones? Speed dial someone by pressing one key in your pocket.

  3. codyriver says:

    Smart Phones are a dime a dozen. Cool chicks are a vanishing breed

Leave a Reply

