My DSP 3: I’m Stepping Out

Song: I’m Stepping Out

Artist: John Lennon

Year: 1980

Favorite Lyric: If it don’t feel right, you don’t have to do it,
Just leave a message on the phone and tell ’em to screw it

Significance: If you’re one of my Facebook friends, you probably know that I’m not happy with my job right now. I took something I knew wasn’t right to make sure that our family still had an income after my husband was laid off, and it’s way worse than I ever could have expected. The Office meets Office Space meets Hell. On a particularly difficult day last week, a line popped into my head, “If it don’t feel right, you don’t have to do it, just leave a message on the phone and tell ’em to screw it.” It reminded me of two things: The genius of John Lennon and the length of time it has been since I listened to any of his solo stuff, even though it was what I used to get me through hard times in high school. That lyric is from a song called “I’m Stepping Out,” off the posthumously released Milk and Honey album and it makes me happier just to remember it. It’s good advice. This just started a snowball of memories of Lennon songs: Oh Yoko! which inspired a poem I wrote for a freshman English class; Whatever Gets You through the Night, which I liked because the way he sang, “listen, listen” made me think of one of my teachers, and the great duality of Nobody Told Me, a song in which everybody’s talking and no one says a word, and everybody’s smoking but no one’s getting high. The list goes on. But because of the spontaneity with which it popped into my head and to thank it for the the spur of memories, here’s I’m Stepping Out.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in December Song Project, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DSP 3: I’m Stepping Out

  1. Pingback: My DSP 3 Playlist | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

