My Annual Oscar Post – 2014 Edition

All right, y’all know the deal by now – I have only a passing interest in movies anymore, and the Oscars are nearly unwatchable. Blah, blah, blah, cranky old lady, get off my lawn! So I decided rather than ranting, I’d tell you about my favorite Oscar tradition. The one I always carry out whether I get to watch the Oscars, or whether my three-year-old is screaming at the top of her lungs to please, please, please let her watch anything else at all. Honestly, I had to agree with her. We settled on YouTube videos of Simon’s Cat.

So instead of an Oscar recap, I bring you pizza! I’ve been making my own pizza on Oscar night since I was a teenager, and as time has gone on, the pizza recipe has only improved. Our latest, most favorite incarnation is a recipe from Cook’s Country. Nothing out there compares. It takes advance planning, because the dough is required to rise in the refrigerator for 24 hours, but it’s worth it. It also makes a complete and total mess of the kitchen, but again, it’s worth it.

We divide the dough into three balls so we each get our own pizza.

We divide the dough into three balls so we each get our own pizza.

The beginnings of sauce

The beginnings of sauce

The endings of sauce. No stove top required.

The endings of sauce. No stove top required.

Dough rolled out and placed on pizza paddle.

Dough rolled out and placed on pizza paddle.

Pizza decorated and ready to go into the oven.

Pizza decorated and ready to go into the oven.

Pizza going into the oven.

Pizza going into the oven.

Pizza on the pizza stone.

Pizza on the pizza stone.

The piece de resistance.

The piece de resistance.

I hope you enjoyed your Oscar night as much as I enjoyed my pizza.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

