My Stream of Facebookness

Most nights, I curse myself for looking at Facebook before I go to bed. It causes me to lose sleep, scrolling through the endless feed of trending topics, advertisements and things that people liked that other people liked that other people posted. I’ve thought numerous times about quitting altogether, but then my kid does something cute and I’m back where I started. I mean, what am I supposed to do, NOT share the cute thing with the Facebook world at large, thus enabling someone else to get to bed earlier? I don’t think so…

Every once in a while, though, the completely random stream-of-consciousness in the Facebook newsfeed yields something interesting. And yesterday, it seemed as if the universe was reading my mind. Here’s what happened:

Two days ago, Nataly Dawn posted a cover of Billy Joel’s The Longest Time on YouTube. I’m subscribed to the Pomplamoose YouTube channel but not Nataly Dawn, so I must have seen this in my newsfeed. I watch the video excitedly, as The Longest Time is one of my favorite Billy Joel songs.

I didn’t, at that moment, think about why The Longest Time is one of my favorite songs, but a video I found on Facebook last night led me to the following train of thought:

When I was a kid, I watched a show on PBS called Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? based on the popular children’s video game. This quiz show, for whatever reason, featured an a cappella group called Rockapella. One day on the show, the group used the melody for The Longest Time to sing a song about (presumably – I can’t really remember) geography. I liked the song and my dad told me it was Joel’s The Longest Time. I went out and bought the album An Innocent Man and the rest is history.

Oh, except for the part where I watched Carmen Sandiego half because I liked the video game, and half because I already knew Rockapella, having seen them on a Spike Lee television special in 1990.

I had forgotten this series of events enough that it was not the first thing that popped into my head when I saw the Billy Joel cover. It eluded me until, in a moment of total random Facebookness (TRF), the Zombie Jamboree video showed up in my feed.

And for that, Facebook, I thank you for keeping me up just a little bit longer. (Song begins at 2:27)

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Stream of Facebookness

  1. Pingback: My DSP 4: Zombie Jamboree | Suite Story Productions

Leave a Reply

