My Peripherals

If you look to the top right of this page, you’ll see a quote that says, “never admit you can type.*” It’s from State and Main, and I think it’s hilarious. The obvious implication is that if you admit you can type, people will want you to type for them, and the last thing you (or I) want to do is type for somebody else. Typing is boring, but when you do it as fast as I do (in the 100 wpm range), it’s a handy skill to have, particularly if you fancy yourself a writer.

I don’t know if I can pin it on my typing speed, or perhaps all the years of being a flute player, but I’m picky about key action. The standard-issue Dell POS keyboard that’s currently hooked up to your work computer just ain’t gonna cut it. I’ve tested and typed on many keyboards over the years, but for the last ten years or so, I’ve been typing on a sublime Logitech keyboard that I adore, and that Logitech doesn’t make anymore. There is no mushiness; the keys bounce back right away. And the keys cradle your fingers so that your hands feel anchored and stable. It makes a sharp, high clicking sound, one that lets others know you’re typing but doesn’t make you physically ill like the sound of someone trying to use an ergonomic keyboard.

 

Perfection

Perfection

Though not related to typing, this keyboard also had volume control buttons on the right side, parallel to the number pad, and eventually I came to wonder why every keyboard manufacturer doesn’t do this. It’s the P-E-R-F-E-C-T place. My keyboard sits on a keyboard drawer, and when I’m not in full composition mode, it tends to rest half under the desk. So when I need to control the volume, instead of rolling the tray out and finding the button at the top, I could just slide my hand over from the mouse and turn it down. Pure, unadulterated genius.

Volume Control

Volume Control

A few years ago, Sonja broke one of the little kickstands that props the keyboard up, and while I consider this an essential feature, the keyboard and I soldiered on. Thus, I was very sad a few weeks ago when I started having issues with the keyboard. For instance, words that I only typed once started appearing twice. I changed the batteries but that didn’t help. I knew it might be time to put the old workhorse out to pasture, but what on earth could I buy to replace it? What do typists type on?

The internet recommended another Logitech, which is what I’m typing this post on. Gone are the side volume controls, and the finger-cradling keys. But the distance of the key press is shorter, and I might have to admit the response is quicker. I haven’t yet put away the old one – I have tried replacing it before and always come back home. But in this keyboard I may have found a new friend, even though I desperately do not want to admit it. So much so that two weeks in, I still haven’t taken the sheer plastic covering off.

New perfection?

New perfection?

On a related note, I also replaced my mouse. This isn’t as big a deal to me, but I did like my old one with two side control buttons and used it profusely to edit, back when I was editing. I must admit the new mouse, while not quite as comfortable, has so many other great features and advanced technology that I like it better. The only thing that bothers me is the oddly loud clicking noise, but it’s offset by the new, quieter keyboard keys.

So what about you? What do you type on?

 

*Unless you’re reading this post in the future and I’ve changed it.

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

