My 2016 Year-in-Review

I consider the year-in-review post a labor of love. I love it, especially for posterity, but it’s a labor to remember just what I did all year. Mostly I’m afraid that I may not be able to come up with anything. This year seems thin, but I’m sure I feel that way every year. Either I have to start taking better notes or doing more memorable stuff.

January

The first day of the year I begin a three-month Facebook cleanse, probably one of the only resolutions I kept. It was quite a productive time for me.

Sonja in PJs, photobombed by the dog, the vacuum and me.

Sonja in PJs, photobombed by the dog, the vacuum and me.

Sonja at a birthday party.

Sonja at a birthday party.

Stock! I make chicken stock about 6-8 times a year, and beef stock once a year, after Christmas dinner.

Stock! I make chicken stock about 6-8 times a year, and beef stock once a year, after Christmas dinner.

February

February is boring.

Valentine's Mailbox

Valentine’s Mailbox

Sid

Sid

Playing in muddy puddles

Playing in muddy puddles

Sleeping in her toddler bed

Sleeping in her toddler bed

March

Knowing that March is also largely boring, I make plans for my spring break: I paint Sonja’s room and buy her a “big girl” bed.

New room, angle 1

New room, angle 1

New room, angle 2

New room, angle 2

New room, angle 3 with closet doors

New room, angle 3 with closet doors

Sleeping in her big girl bed.

Sleeping in her big girl bed.

Hunting Easter eggs

Hunting Easter eggs

April

Sonja and I go to the Spring fair. We are supposed to meet friends, but they back out last minute so the two of us tackle kiddie-land together.

04_Apr 2016 (30)

Face paintin’

04_Apr 2016 (41)

Car drivin’

Sunshine, lollipops and rainbows

Sunshine, lollipops and rainbows

I hope she doesn't mow over someone's foot...

I hope she doesn’t mow over someone’s foot…

Milking a fake cow

Milking a fake cow

Sonja-Go-Round

Sonja-Go-Round

Helicopter flyin'

Helicopter flyin’

Fairy T-Shirt wearin'

Fairy T-Shirt wearin’

Stair nappin'

Stair nappin’

Helping Mom cook

Helping Mom cook

May

I see Paul Simon in concert, and buy a tour hoodie which I ultimately find to be a little ridiculous because the hood covers the logo, and other than the logo, it’s just an off-brown hoodie. But I still wear it nearly every day because, dammit, I bought it. I also paid off my car about a year early, so hooray for one less bill…

The Back

The Back

Pepper got a haircut

Pepper got a haircut

Fun at the park.

Fun at the park.

Sonja has her special day at preschool

Sonja has her special day at preschool

A preschool photo

A preschool photo

June

I tackle some decluttering a la Marie Kondo, making the trash can my new best friend.

A new bike

A new bike

She said it was her "summer break."

She said it was her “summer break.”

July

Day trippers! In lieu of a longer vacation, we take the first of two summer day trips. We also let Sonja play with fireworks for the first time, and we do a little photo shoot down on the farm. (Not our farm.)

07_Jul 2016 Leavenworth (3)

Family photo, Leavenworth, WA

07_Jul 2016 Leavenworth (5)

Friends

07_Jul 2016 Leavenworth (18)

More friends

A sweater was required for fourth of July fireworks this year.

A sweater was required for fourth of July fireworks this year.

07_Jul 2016 (14)

Dancing with fire

Tire swing

Tire swing

Carrying vegetables that she would not even try.

Carrying vegetables that she would not even try.

August

In August, we take another trip to the zoo. Shaun and I celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary. I have another birthday. And, on the hottest day of the year, we take our second road trip, the genesis of which is bathed in confusion, but the execution of which is memorable.

08_aug-2016-21

Something tells me it’s all happening at the zoo

In the Columbia River

In the Columbia River

The girls coloring.

The girls coloring.

08_Aug 2016 (25) CC 08_Aug 2016 (26)CC 20160820_152313

September

We begin a bathroom remodel that is still agonizingly unfinished. Sonja turns 5. And I somewhat ill-advisedly start playing Pokemon Go, even though I know squat about Pokemon.

matisse-lb-photography-9705

The 5-year old

Birthday fun

Birthday fun

Birthday girls in a car

Birthday girls in a car

Some pinata confusion

Some pinata confusion

This is early, but after some work was done, such as waterproofing the subfloor and moving the wall.

This is early, but after some work was done, such as waterproofing the subfloor and moving the wall.

October

The predicted storm of the century turned out to be, quite predictably, nothing. Sonja goes on a field trip and trick or treating.

storm-meme

Totally prepared and completely underwhelmed

Totally prepared for and completely underwhelmed by the storm.

Prepping for a storm that never materialized.

Prepping for a storm that never materialized.

14691161_10154573812365429_6158958378501203700_o-copy

Porch decoratin’

14717095_10154551660790429_5294976660579351581_n

Field Trippin’

img_20161017_1021549

Giant Pumpkins

img_20161031_1732382

Trick or Treatin’

November

We eat a turkey.

Outside of her school in a turkey hat.

Outside of her school in a turkey hat.

December

We see The Nutcracker and we visit Santa Claus. We decorate the Christmas tree and bake Christmas cookies. Sonja leaves out two cookies and a glass of milk for Santa, plus a carrot for his reindeer. And of course we open presents and eat ourselves into a stupor. As always, we really overdo it on Christmas. As always, I vow not to even leave the house after about December 10th, but then proceed to go out every single day to pick up some item I forgot the day before. It’s too much trouble, but I suppose I do it so that I’m not left wondering what I did all the long, dark winter.

Seeing the Nutcracker and eating very expensive M&Ms.

Seeing the Nutcracker and eating very expensive M&Ms.

All decked out

All decked out

Thumbs up with Santa

Thumbs up with Santa

Stocking stuffers

Stocking stuffers

A purple brontosaurus (that thankfully she loved...Santa was worried.)

A purple brontosaurus (that thankfully she loved…Santa was worried.)

Christmas dog

Christmas dog

The yearly picture with all of her gifts.

The yearly picture with all of her gifts.

Now on to 2017!

About suitejen

Writer. Video Editor. Mama.
This entry was posted in Baby, Home, Life, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

